Sunday 20 October 2019

Finance

Key Figures

Adjusted Net Asset Value calculation methodology

Preparation of the ANR and External Evaluator

The independent expert verifies the compliance of the valuations carried out with IFRS 13 and the recommendations of the IPEV (International Private Equity Valuation Organisation). The expert shall apply a multi-criteria approach whenever data is available and for each assessment, he shall define, on the basis of the relevance of the information available, the methods which are best suited to the related company.

The ANR is prepared by NextStage AM under the responsibility of Mr. Grégoire Sentilhes, with the intervention of the Chief Financial Officer, Mr. Christophe Pasquier and the assistance of Deloitte.

The external evaluator in charge of examining the value analyses of the Company’s shareholdings, carried out by NextStage as part of the calculation of its NAV, is Sorgem Evaluation.

Evaluation methods

The methods used to value the investments are as follows:

Stock market comparables method: This is an analogical valuation method based on a comparison of the company’s data with those of a sample of comparable companies in terms of activity, size, risk, growth… The multiples are constructed from a sample of comparable listed companies. An average or median multiple is then applied to the company to be valued. In the case of a non-listed company, it is customary to apply an illiquidity discount to the value obtained to take into account a valuation differential compared to comparable listed companies, due to the liquidity of their securities on the market.
Comparable transactions which is an analog valuation method using multiples observed on a sample of past transactions considered comparable to evaluate a new transaction. After the multiples have been constructed, the average or median multiple should be used to evaluate the transaction in question.
Target price: This is an evaluation method based on the selection of target prices published by brokers for a given company. In the case of a non-listed company, it is customary to apply an illiquidity discount to the value obtained to take into account a valuation differential compared to comparable listed companies, due to the liquidity of their securities on the market.
Discounted Cash-Flow: is based on the principle that the value of an asset is equal to the net present value of the future cash flows it generates. The value of an asset or entity is thus calculated as the sum of the cash flows generated, discounted at a rate that reflects the level of risk of the asset or entity in question. The valuation of a company by the DCF method is based on an explicit construction of the assumptions underlying a valuation, namely the forecasts of growth, investment and long-term profitability as well as the discount rate of future cash flows reflecting the level of risk of the business and its financial structure.
The expert implements and applies, where applicable, a size and illiquidity discount determined by analysing the differences in size premiums between small and large capitalisation companies – with reference to the “2016 Valuation handbook – Guide to Cost of Capital” (Duff & Phelps).

Audit Committee

The Audit Committee, set up by the Company’s Supervisory Board, is responsible for preparing and facilitating the work of the Supervisory Board in its ongoing monitoring of the Company’s management, which includes verifying the reliability and clarity of the information provided to shareholders and the market.

The role of the Audit Committee is in particular to exercise control over the financial statements (including the ANR, which is reviewed semi-annually by the statutory auditors and validated quarterly by the Audit Committee) and the valuations within the framework of the Supervisory Board.

At least four meetings are held annually before the Supervisory Board reviews the annual financial statements, half-yearly financial statements and quarterly financial statements.

Statutory Auditors

The scope of the role of the statutory auditors includes:

Accounting controls and audits, in particular the existence and valuation of equity securities, the existence and valuation of investment securities, sample controls on expenses, exhaustive verification of income;
Legal audits, including the audit of the management report and other controls, such as regulated agreements;
The signature of an ad hoc certificate on the ANR published every six months
Financial communication

The ANR is the subject of a quarterly press release.

samedi 27 mai 2017

Finance

Chiffres clés

Méthodologie de calcul de l’ANR

Préparation de l’ANR et Évaluateur externe

L’expert indépendant vérifie la conformité des valorisations effectuées avec la norme IFRS 13 et les recommandations de l’IPEV (International Private Equity Valuation Organisation). L’expert met en œuvre, à chaque fois que des données sont disponibles, une approche multicritères et pour chaque évaluation, il définit, en fonction de la pertinence des informations disponibles, les méthodes qui sont les mieux adaptées à la société concernée.

L’ANR est préparé par NextStage AM sous la responsabilité de M. Grégoire Sentilhes, avec l’intervention du Directeur Financier, M. Christophe Pasquier et l’assistance de Deloitte.

L’évaluateur externe en charge d’examiner les analyses de valeurs des participations de la Société, réalisées par NextStage dans le cadre du calcul de son ANR, est la société Sorgem Evaluation.

Méthodes d’évaluation

Les méthodes utilisées pour l’évaluation des participations sont les suivantes :

  • Méthode des comparables boursiers: Il s’agit d’une méthode d’évaluation analogique qui repose sur une comparaison des données de l’entreprise à celles d’un échantillon de sociétés comparables en termes d’activité, de taille, de risque, de croissance…Les multiples sont construits à partir d’un échantillon de sociétés cotées comparables. Un multiple moyen ou médian est ensuite appliqué à la société à évaluer. Dans le cas d’une société non cotée en bourse, il est d’usage d’appliquer une décote d’illiquidité à la valeur obtenue pour tenir compte d’un différentiel de valorisation par rapport à des sociétés comparables cotées, dû à la liquidité de leurs titres sur le marché.
  • Transactions comparables qui est une méthode d’évaluation analogique employant les multiples observés sur un échantillon de transactions passées jugées comparables pour évaluer une nouvelle transaction. Après la construction des multiples, il convient d’employer le multiple moyen ou médian pour l’évaluation de la transaction en question.
  • Cours cible : Il s’agit d’une méthode d’évaluation qui repose sur la sélection des cours cibles publiés par des brokers pour une société donnée. Dans le cas d’une société non cotée en bourse, il est d’usage d’appliquer une décote d’illiquidité à la valeur obtenue pour tenir compte d’un différentiel de valorisation par rapport à des sociétés comparables cotées, dû à la liquidité de leurs titres sur le marché.
  • Discounted Cash-Flow : repose sur le principe selon lequel la valeur d’un actif est égale à la valeur actuelle nette des flux de trésorerie futurs qu’il génère. La valeur d’un actif, ou d’une entité est ainsi calculée comme la somme des flux de trésorerie générés, actualisés au taux reflétant le niveau de risque de l’actif ou de l’entité en question. L’évaluation d’une entreprise par la méthode DCF repose sur une construction explicite des hypothèses sous-jacentes à une valorisation à savoir les prévisions de croissance, d’investissement et de rentabilité à long terme ainsi que le taux d’actualisation des flux futurs reflétant le niveau de risque de l’activité et sa structure financière.

L’expert met en œuvre et applique le cas échéant une décote de taille et d’illiquidité déterminée par une analyse des différences de primes de tailles entre sociétés de petites et grandes capitalisation – en se référant au « 2016 Valuation handbook – Guide to Cost of Capital » (Duff & Phelps).

Comité d’audit

Le Comité d’audit, institué par le conseil de surveillance de la Société, a pour fonction de préparer et faciliter le travail du conseil de surveillance dans son contrôle permanent de la gestion de la Société, qui inclut la vérification de la fiabilité et de la clarté de l’information fournie aux actionnaires et au marché.

Le rôle du Comité d’audit est notamment d’exercer un contrôle sur les comptes (dont l’ANR, qui est revu semestriellement par les commissaires aux comptes et validé trimestriellement par le Comité d’audit) et les valorisations dans le cadre du conseil de surveillance.

Au moins quatre réunions sont organisées de façon annuelle avant l’examen des comptes annuels, des comptes semestriels et des situations trimestrielles par le Conseil de surveillance.

Commissaires aux comptes

L’étendu du rôle des commissaires aux comptes comprend :

  • Des contrôles et vérifications comptables, notamment l’existence et la valorisation des titres de participations, l’existence et la valorisation des titres de placements, les contrôles par sondage des charges, la vérification exhaustive des produits ;
  • Des contrôles juridiques, notamment le contrôle du rapport de gestion et d’autres contrôles, telles que les conventions règlementées ;
  • La signature d’une attestation ad hoc sur l’ANR publié chaque semestre

Communication financière

L’ANR fait l’objet d’un communiqué trimestriel.